Nagarik Unmukti Party prepares to lead Sudurpaschim Provincial Government

KATHMANDU: The Nagarik Unmukti Party is gearing up to take the helm of the Sudurpaschim Provincial Government, with plans in motion to establish a new administration supported by the ruling alliance.

Chairperson Ranjita Shrestha, following the dismissal of Ghanshyam Chaudhary and the appointment of Kailash Chaudhary as the parliamentary party leader, is actively working towards forming a new government.

On Saturday, Kailash Chaudhary is expected to assert his claim to the position of Chief Minister of the province.

He has already engaged in discussions with Madhav Kumar Nepal, Chairman of CPN (Unified Socialist), and Speaker Bhim Bahadur Bhandari of the provincial assembly, among other leaders.

To secure a majority in the provincial assembly, a minimum of 27 lawmakers out of the 51-member assembly is required.

Currently, there are 18 lawmakers from Nepali Congress, 11 from CPN (Maoist Center), 10 from CPN-UML, seven from Nagarik Unmukti Party, four from CPN (Unified Socialist), one from Rastriya Prajatantra Party, and one independent lawmaker.

The Nagarik Unmukti Party is poised to stake its claim to the provincial government with the support of 10 lawmakers from the Maoist Center, 10 from CPN-UML, four from CPN (Unified Socialist), three out of the six lawmakers from Nagarik Unmukti Party, and one independent lawmaker.

In the event that any party fails to meet the deadline for staking claim to the government, a new administration will be formed under the leadership of Nepali Congress, as stipulated by Article 168(3) of the Constitution, given that Congress currently holds the largest number of seats in the provincial assembly.

Leave Comment