ACC Cup begins today: Nepal faces Malaysia in opening match

KATHMANDU: The ACC Men's Premier Cup Cricket Championship kicks off in Oman today, with Nepal set to take on Malaysia in the opening match.

This marks the 10th international T20 encounter between the two nations, with the game scheduled to be held at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat, Oman's capital.

Nepal boasts a strong record against Malaysia, having emerged victorious in eight out of the nine previous encounters. Malaysia, on the other hand, has secured just one win against Nepal.

Ten teams are participating in this Championship, which follows a T20 format. The teams have been divided into two groups: Group A consists of Nepal, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia, while Group B includes Bahrain, Cambodia, Kuwait, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The tournament's winner will qualify for the prestigious Asia Cup. In addition to Nepal's match against Malaysia today, another Group A fixture between Hong Kong and Qatar is scheduled for this afternoon.

Nepal's upcoming matches include clashes against Qatar tomorrow, Hong Kong on April 15, and Saudi Arabia on April 16, wrapping up the group stage.

The Championship will continue until April 21. The Nepali team, led by Captain Rohit Kumar Paudel, includes key players such as Gulsan Jha, Karan KC, Kushal Bhurtel, and Sompal Kami, among others.

With high expectations and determination, Nepal aims to make a mark in the tournament and secure a spot in the prestigious Asia Cup.

Leave Comment