Bimala Ghimire elected Vice-Chair of National Assembly

KATHMANDU: Bimala Ghimire of the CPN (UML) has secured the position of Vice-Chairperson of the National Assembly (NA).

The announcement was made by NA Chairperson Narayan Prasad Dahal following today's session, where Ghimire received 39 votes in her favor through a division of votes.

Chairperson Dahal extended congratulations to Ghimire on her election.

A total of 55 parliamentarians participated in the voting, with 39 supporting Ghimire and 16 voting against her.

In the same election, Nepali Congress candidate Bishnu Devi Pudasaini received 16 votes in her favor and 39 against, leading to her rejection for the Vice-Chairperson post due to a lack of majority support.

The NA will reconvene on April 12, Friday, at 1:15 pm for further proceedings.

Leave Comment