Province 1 CM Acharya resigns ahead of trust vote, UML ousted of all govts

person access_time2021-11-01 chat_bubble_outline0

KATHMANDU: Bhim Prasad Acharya has stepped down as the chief minister (CM) of Province 1 ahead of the voting on his trust motion tabled at the provincial assembly. 

The provincial assembly was scheduled to vote over CM Acharya’s confidence motion on Monday afternoon. 

Addressing a meeting of the provincial assembly on Monday, CM Acharya announced his resignation. 

Acharya was appointed executive head of Province 1 on August 26 following the resignation of his predecessor Sher Dhan Rai. 

Chief Minister Acharya, however, soon lost the majority in the provincial assembly as 11 lawmakers of the ruling CPN-UML joined the newly formed CPM (Unified Socialist).

Acharya, who was said to be an ally of the then senior leader of UML, Madhav Kumar Nepal,  stayed in the UML and substituted Rai as the chief minister. 

The five-party alliance comprising the CPN (US), Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) and Rastriya Janamorcha fielded Rajendra Rai, a CPN (US) lawmaker as the successor of Acharya. 

With this, the main opposition, which once led the federal government and four provincial governments (Province 1, Bagmati, Gandaki and Lumbini provinces) has been ousted as the ruling side. 


Leave a Comment


Your Credentials are safe with us