Canada XI secures ODI series triumph with commanding win over Nepal A

KATHMANDU: In a display of cricketing prowess, Canada XI emerged triumphant, defeating Nepal A by four wickets in a riveting encounter at the Mulpani International Cricket Ground, clinching the prestigious ODI series title.

Opting to field first upon winning the toss, Canada XI's strategic decision paid dividends as they restricted Nepal A to a modest total of 181 runs in 46.6 overs, dismantling their batting lineup.

Undeterred by the challenging target, Canada XI showcased their batting mettle, chasing down the required runs in just 38.4 overs, with calculated precision and finesse.

During Nepal A's innings, Ashutosh Ghiraiya and Arjun Kumar led the charge with gritty knocks of 28 and 27 runs respectively, ably supported by Basir Ahmed and Sandeep Jhora, who contributed vital runs to the team's tally.

However, Canada XI's bowlers, Dillon Heyliger and Harsh Thaker, exhibited skillful bowling displays, each claiming two crucial wickets to thwart Nepal A's batting efforts.

In response, Canada XI's Aaron Johnson and Nicholas Kirton orchestrated a brilliant run chase, showcasing their batting prowess with scores of 42 and 58 runs respectively.

Despite valiant bowling efforts from Nepal A's Shahab Alam, who secured four wickets, and contributions from Sher Malla and Basir Ahmed, Canada XI remained resolute in their pursuit of victory.

With this commanding win, Canada XI emerged triumphant in the ODI series, securing victory in two out of three matches, underscoring their dominance on the cricketing stage.

Leave Comment