Ruling alliance’s leaders ‘secretly’ discussing power sharing, ministers selection

person access_time2021-07-29 chat_bubble_outline0

KATHMANDU, July 29: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has assigned the leaders of the ruling alliance to pick the names of ministers and their ministers. 

After discussing with CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachadna, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba asked the leaders of the alliance to finalize the power sharing. For that, Nepali Congress (NC) has designated Krishna Prasad Sitaula and Purna Bahadur Khadka while Chairman Prachanda and Vice Chairman Narayan Kaji Shrestha have joined a ‘secret’ meeting on behalf of Maoist Center including three Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) leaders ---- Upendra Yadav, Dr Baburam Bhattarai and Ashok Rai. 

According to a source close to Baluwatar, the leaders are holding the discussion around the New Baneshwor area in the capital. PM Deuba is likely to expand the Cabinet on Thursday itself if the leaders forge consensus on power sharing. 

According to sources, the NC has laid claim on eight ministries while Maoist Center and JSP have demanded seven and six ministries respectively. 

The power sharing has remained uncertain after the senior leader of CPN-UML, Madhav Kumar Nepal asked the alliance to allocate some ministries for his side as well. According to the sources, the Nepal faction will get at least six ministries.

From the establishing faction of the NC Whip Pushpa Bhusal, Dr. Narayan Khadka, Dr. Dila Sangraula, Devendra Kandel, Bahadur Lama and Man Bahadur Bishwakarma have been lobbying for ministerial berths. Similarly, Sujata Koirala, Dilendra Badu, Minendra Rijal, Rajan KC, Tejulal Chaudhary, Pramod Yadav and Prakash Rasaili are lobbying from Poudel's side. From Sitaula's side, Gagan Thapa, Umakanta Chaudhary and Bhimsen Das are also seen in line to be appointed as the ministers.

The names of Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Haribol Gajurel, Debendra Poudel, Hariraj Adhikari, Dev Prasad Gurung, Matrika Yadav, Jaipuri Gharti, Anjana Bishankhe, Shashi Shrestha, Sudan Kirati, Aman Lal Modi and Shiva Kumar Mandal are propective ministers from the Maoist Center.

Chairman Upendra Yadav, Mahendra Ray Yadav, Renu Yadav, Mohammad Istiyaq Rai, Rajendra Shrestha and Raj Kishor Yadav are lobbying to join the Deuba Cabinet from the JSP.


Leave a Comment


Your Credentials are safe with us