President awards winners of National Poetry Festival

person access_time2021-07-14 chat_bubble_outline0

KATHMANDU, July 14: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has awarded the winners of the National Poetry Festival organised by the Nepal Academy for the year 2077 BS and 2078 BS.

The winners were honoured by the Head-of-the-State amidst a special programme at the Rastrapati Bhawan, Shital Niwas, today.

The awarded are Bhairavi Bhugol (first- ‘Nepalko Geet’- 2077 BS) from Nuwakot, Kabita Rai (first- ‘Deshako Naksa’- 2078 BS) from Bhojpur, Prajwal Adhikari (second- ‘Sankalpa’- 2077 BS) from Lamjung and Amrita Smriti (second- 'Dadhelopachhi Basanta Aaunchha’-2078 BS) from Dhading.

Similarly, Ganesh Prasad Khatiwada (‘Aamako Aadesh’) from Solukhumbu, Devaki Abhilashi (‘Aaama Ek Viswavidyalaya’) from Dolakha and Rejina Aapgai (‘Sambridha Nepalko Sapana’) from Tehrathum who bagged the third prize in the national poetry festival in 2077 BS were honoured on the occasion. 

Likewise, Niranjana Kumari Chand (‘Yugin Pratidhwani’) from Bardiya, Sabita Baral (‘Aama Ma Aaye’) from Taplejung and Prakash Silwal (‘Bodhisatwako Khop’) from Nuwakot who won the third positions for this year’s festival were awarded with the cash prize on the occasion. 

The first prize carries a purse of Rs 50 thousand, the second prize Rs 40 thousand and the third prize Rs 30 thousand.

The national poetry festival is in the annual calendar of the Nepal Academy. It is organised on Asar 9 in the Nepali calendar, the establishment day of the Academy.


National News Agency, Nepal


Leave a Comment


Your Credentials are safe with us