Discussion on name of province no. 1

person access_timeOctober 7 chat_bubble_outline0

Itahari –An interaction and discussion was held among the members of parliament of province no.1 to decide on the name of the province. The interaction was held at the initiative of civil society here on Saturday. 

On the occasion, various speakers stressed on the need to choose a terminology that would be appropriate to the identity, history, geography and the liking of the people of the province. 

Academician Upanath Rijal, media worker Janakrishi Rai, researcher Mohan Timsena, Bijaya Limbu and Satya Narayan Rajdhami proposed various names like Koshi, Sagarmath, Chomolongma, Kirat, Tharuhat etc. 

MPs Sarbadwaj Sanwa, Sabitri Shrestha, Tulasi Prasad Neupane, Rajan Rai, Lilam Basnet, Basant Devi Chaudhary, Bina Rai took part in the progamme held with deputy Speaker of the Province Saraswati Pokharel as the Chief Guest. 
Some of the MPs on the occasion also argued that Itahari could be the appropriate capital for province no. 1. Currently, Biratnagar serves as the temporary capital of the province. 


Leave a Comment


Your Credentials are safe with us